Spinster Socks Get a Second Chance

We recently did an addition on our house.  The results have knocked my socks off.

(pun intended)

Among the fabulous things we did to our house,the one that I appreciate oh so much, is my 2nd floor laundry room.  I’m sure many of you can relate to how desirable this set up is.  To make it even more fun, I decided to own this room.  I’m the only one in my house of four who ever does laundry, so I’m making the executive decisions in there.

One of the first things that I wanted to do was create a place, easily visible, to store lost socks.  I had seen many ideas on Pinterest that were cute, but I wanted to put my own spin on it.

I decided that mine would say:

Single. Clean & Available. Looking for Mate.  Size Matters.

Cuz it does.  It makes me smile every time I do laundry.

It’s also great for the socks that you have multiple pairs of and one gets a hole prematurely.  You know, you intend to match that sock with the widower sock from the future, but you throw it into a black hole where it becomes some sort of spinster; only to be thrown out the next time you sweep through the closets and drawers to collect outgrown and worn out clothes.  Tragic.  Not really…but it gets my point across.

Single. Clean & Available. Looking for Mate. Size Matters

Single. Clean & Available. Looking for Mate. Size Matters

My Materials:

  • Scrap trim (from our house addition)
  • Acrylic Paint, I used “Lake Blue’
  • Extra Fine Point Sharpie Paint Pen, I used “Pink”
  • Rope
  • Clothes pins – I got mine at the dollar store, but they are flimsy.  It drives me crazy. I suggest paying a little extra.
  • 6 Nails – 2 for the sign, 4 for hanging rope
Lost Socks

Spinster Socks Get A Second Chance

And now I’ll put a sock in it.

Leave a comment